Pizza de Carnitas

Tonight we had the best pizza on planet Earth.  It didn’t come from Domino’s, or the swanky Italian pizzeria, or my freezer.  It was inspired by P-Dub’s Carnitas Pizza recipe out of her latest cookbook, Food From My Frontier.

IMG_6269

I tweaked it to make it my own (which is what I try to do for most recipes…results unknown of course).

I used the 3-4lb chuck roast and rubbed with a mix of chili powder, cumin, oregano, and sea salt.

IMG_6266

Then, I seared the roast in a couple Tbsp of canola oil on each side for about two minutes.  While the recipe calls to roast in the oven for four hrs, I used the crockpot and set it for six.  Also, instead of using 24oz of nectar juice I used Mojo…because we are addicted to that business!

IMG_6274

Once the meat is tender, shred with a fork and return to crockpot with liquid while you prep the dough.  Here, you can obviously use your favorite pizza dough recipe, Pioneer Woman’s one of course, or refrigerated pizza dough…whatever your little heart desires!  I spread some olive oil down on my baking stone before I added laid out my dough.  Next, add a cup of salsa verde or tomatillo salsa and spread along the dough.

IMG_6282

Onto the good stuff…I added fresh mozzarella, (heart beating faster).

IMG_6283

As if things couldn’t get any better, top the cheese with sautéed red bell pepper and onion…thinly sliced.  Bake at 400 Fahrenheit until cheese is bubbly and crust is golden.

IMG_6287

Once you add the shredded meat on top….it’s time to swoooooooon!!

IMG_6296

You can add several other toppings as well…like diced green onions, jalepenos, sour cream, tortilla strips, or even black beans.  Since I was dealing with these dudes, I let the meat shine like the star it was meant to be.  It was a major hit with all three…not always easy to do as all mommy masterchefs know.

I cannot wait for PW’s Holiday cookbook…a definite place on my Holiday wish list!

Thanks for looking,

Diane

One thought on “Pizza de Carnitas

Leave a Reply

