Winding Down December

Well, December is almost over, 2012 is almost over, the world didn’t end, and my lucky year is on the horizon (13 is my number).  I’m excited about the upcoming year with our long anticipated cruise finally happening for us, having our daughter graduate HS and start college, moving back to the states after a long 7 year run overseas, and my getting back into workforce saddle again.  Reflecting, 2012 was a good year as well.  No real big stressors within our family, Saige got her license and car, JD had his best performance to date with Hairspray, Teage is excelling at school and is setting trends all over the KMC with his fashion sense.  George got promoted to Master Sergeant and continues to thrive in his coaching duties at the HS, and I have been volunteering hardcore as usual and continuing to chip away at my degree.  There are always sad events throughout the year like losing my Grandmommie, the tragic events in Colorado and Connecticut as well as others, the passing of my friend Angel, and prepping myself to transition from mommy of a “child” to being a mom of an “adult”.  Peaks and valleys come with each year and no matter what the events are, we learn from them and take that into the New Year. Just my thoughts…reflection is healing for me.

Wrapping up December, I had a birthday!  Being 38 pushes me in to the “Late 30s” category that I have been dreading a little bit.  Not because I feel old, but because now others will think I’m old 😉  You know what I’m talking about…not getting carded when I get back to the states, getting talked to loudly because people may think I’m hard of hearing, being asked if I’m pre-menopausal when I start to sweat a little, or that awkward stage of being considered in between a MILF and Cougar (that one really keeps me up at night…HAHA).  Actually, regardless of the way people perceive my age, I do embrace my late 30s.  I feel wiser, more secure, uninhibited, and with endless possibilities.  I cherish the fact that I had so many people acknowledge my birthday this year.  It’s always been a hit or miss birthday situation for me since I was born three days before Christmas and my four other siblings celebrate their birthdays within two weeks of mine (well played Ma).  This year was nice, nothing fancy, but I could definitely feel the love.  Thank you to everyone that stepped out of the crazy December madness and gave their time for lil ‘ol me 🙂 Thank you Dawn O, Kristin, Dawn S, Wayne, Argie, Mario, Britney, Jake, April, TJ, Morgan, Rhea, Saige, and George + all the kiddies….you guys really made 38 look great and exciting!!

My new Coach, thx G!

My new Coach, thx G!

Present time :)

Present time 🙂

My very own flask...and it's pink!  Yessss

My very own flask…and it’s pink! Yessss

G made me a two tiered Red Velvet cake...that was a gift in itself!

G made me a two tiered Red Velvet cake…that was a gift in itself!

Dayum that's a lot of candles :/

Dayum that’s a lot of candles :/

Onward to more Winter fun…we had a really good snowfall for a couple days in December.  Teage was too excited to get right in and become one with the white stuff…

IMG_3435

Teage Angel

Teage Angel

IMG_3520

Pump yo brakes

IMG_3483

The Winter kept going from family gatherings with Rhea and the kids, to Winter concerts, and so on.  The Holidays have been turning in to a fabulous time and a season I won’t forget…

Lil Isla Dudes

Lil Isla Dudes

Saige making the icing for the cookies!

Saige making the icing for the cookies!

Melted Snowman cookies!

Melted Snowman cookies!

Baked Alaska at the Garrison Holiday Party...yumm!

Baked Alaska at the Garrison Holiday Party…yumm!

The Big Chill - Teage's Winter Concert

The Big Chill – Teage’s Winter Concert

His fan club...LOL

His fan club…LOL

Superstar exit!!

Superstar exit!!

The 3 stooges...

The 3 stooges…

Time for Reindeer Food

Time for Reindeer Food

JD takes the reindeers' needs very serious...like every year.

JD takes the reindeers’ needs very serious…like every year.

IMG_3552

Tracking Santa whereabouts!

Tracking Santa whereabouts!

Christmas Eve is when we sprinkle the reindeer food on the lawn and open one gift from Mom & Dad.  This year my kids all got footie pjs.  They loved them…well except JD wasn’t enthusiastic about the Grinch heads that were plastered on his feet…lol.  Gpa was also in the mix via Facetime so we decided to let all the kids open the gifts from him.

The staple good time hoodie from Gpa!

The staple good time hoodie from Gpa!

Cameras are always welcome here!

Cameras are always welcome here!

Now G can cut Saige's back half!

Now G can cut Saige’s back half!

IMG_8138IMG_8144

Soon it was time for bed…and Santa & the elves started their magic…

Wrappin Fools...

Wrappin Fools…

Full Stockings

Full Stockings

Santa's Sack

Santa’s Sack

Merry Christmas...Thx Santa!

Merry Christmas…Thx Santa!

Opening gifts was quicker than usual this year…we decided to spend less time taking thousands of photos and watching the kids reactions to it all instead.  This is all I pretty much took to share.  I love the joy the Holidays bring to a person’s face…

Headphones...woot

Headphones…woot

Harley & Teage checking out his Monster legos

Harley & Teage checking out his Monster legos

Princess Studio for Camille

Princess Studio for Camille

Open It Joaquin!

Open It Joaquin!

JD's guide to NY...not for parents...hmmm.

JD’s guide to NY…not for parents…hmmm.

A new sportcoat for Teagie

A new sportcoat for Teagie

Some peacock business for Rhea!

Some peacock business for Rhea!

Panda hoodies are a girl's best friend

Panda hoodies are a girl’s best friend

Best wrapping adornment ever!

Best wrapping adornment ever!

Best surprise of Xmas 2012...iPad Mini for G!!  I snuck that one in HARD!

Best surprise of Xmas 2012…iPad Mini for G!! I snuck that one in HARD!

Saige's first Coach wristlet

Saige’s first Coach wristlet

The big surprise for Saige was the early graduation gift form Gpa…He bought her a new Macbook Pro laptop!  This is him telling her on Facetime…

IMG_3554

He is giving it to her on  “loan” to get used to it before college.  We appreciate and love Gpa so much…he really goes the extra mile for his grandkids…thx GPA!

We feel really blessed every year throughout…not just on Christmas.  I love having family here in Germany to spend it with and to make memories with.  Next year we will be somewhere else for the Holidays and we will cherish that one the same.  It is bittersweet to have this be our last one here in Germany…so I relish in every moment we have left.  Tonight, it’s seafood boil and fireworks at the other Isla’s…we are still doing it big!!  Make sure you toast to something and/or someone meaningful as we glide into 2013…the lucky year awaits…Good bye 2012, thx for the memories!!

Here is our 2012 Video Montage…we would love for you to take a walk down memory lane with us…we had another incredible, crazy, loving, blessed year!! ( I know it’s a bit lengthy and ‘Saige heavy’ in some parts…but this being her last year…sniff, I may have went overboard maybe lil)

Isla Fam Bam 2012 Year in Review

Happy New Year!!!

Love ya, GDSJT

One thought on “Winding Down December

Leave a Reply

