Last Supper

Well, Teage turns into an official full-fledged BIG BOY today.  The experience leading up today has been emotional, proud, and anxious.  I am going to breeze through this post quickly..because I don’t have time to sit and cry like a baby at the computer.  I’m so proud of him and excited for this milestone and I know he will give them ALL he’s got ;o)  Sooo, I thought all weekend (and all Summer really) how the days leading up to Kindergarten Eve would go.  A week ago our family did a photo-shoot together for the first time as a fam bam of five .  I think he is big enough now to actually take direction other than, “Pick up your toys” and “Don’t hit your brother”.  BTW, pics are coming soon and they are going to blow.you.away!  Anyway, it brought him up to the older sibling group and gave him the opportunity to be a ‘big kid’.  He also got a visit from his new teacher and para here at the house where she gave him a goodie bag that had a book in it…

Biscuit Visits the Big City…YES!!

Mrs. Rocha-Mendoza (yep, she’s Hispanic) sat with him on the stairs to show him the book and chit chat while George and I filled out some papers and asked a few questions.  To our surprise (kinda), when they were done, she came over and raved about his reading and sight word skills!  It felt good as a mom to know that my bedtime reading was paying off (and the fact that JD likes to watch movies with subtitles).  After a week of bonding time, it was evident that I had plenty of time to prep for his first day (insert that WRONG Labor Day holiday weekend right in the middle of starting school).  We went to the Dino Park, the movies, gymnastics started, more parks, did some crafts, shopping…I had a blast being partners in fun and spending the quality time with him that I know is already fading fast.  I mean seriously, he is just too big…

First day at gymnastics, Level 2!

Rocket Man at the park

Doing it big…in a tree!

I knew I wanted to do something together on Kindergarten Eve as a family so he could feel how special HE is and how special his new day is to all of us.  We went to the movies, had lunch, and then came home while he and daddy built car tracks and talked about the first day jitters.  I wanted to make him a special supper…his last preschool supper, if you will.  I knew it was going to be something comfort-like…and decided to go southern, since I have many memories of growing up eating southern food on school nights. He devoured his chop of course and the pasta salad.  The cabbage ended with me saying “two bites more”.

Last Supper

Once dinner was over, it was bathy time and I read him the book that has been in our top 5 list at bedtime lately…

So I tucked him in, gave him his old bear and he stayed there until I had to wake him at 7.  He had picked out his outfit the night before and once he got dressed, ate breakfast, and brushed his teeth, he was eager to “walk like big kids” to school.  But before we could do that he needed me to help him make his hair look COOL! (“Because kindergarten is cool, Mom”)!!

So funny that he has kept the Oki pose after all this time!

The walk to the school was nerve wracking…all the kids walking around, the parents holding the little Kinders tight, the cameras…it was a lot!  But Teage walked up, put his name tag on by himself, and hugged me real tight….I almost broke, but I didn’t, for him!  He looked a little nervous too at first, but once he saw the other kids and then his teacher…he couldn’t keep his eyes off of them and started slipping into a comfortable place…I could tell.

In line…

In awe of his teacher…lol

I can’t wait to hear all about his day from him and the teachers.  I can foresee it being more than an adventure!!

I posted some pics of the big kids’ first day on Facebook….they are old hats at the 1st day happenings, but WOW…they look so close in age these days!

Saige-n-JD: 8th & 11th

Go Get ‘Em Isla Bambinos!!

6 thoughts on “Last Supper

  1. Next big milestone – Graduation from Kindergarten.
    Then Saige graduating from High School.
    Life never slows down and you would not have it any other way.

    Miss all of you!!

Leave a Reply

